The Prime Areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • The World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are then further broken down into 17 Early Learning Goals which the children are assessed against at the end of the Reception Year.

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The curriculum is based upon four main themes and principles:

  • The Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The curriculum is separated into the ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’ areas of learning. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

The ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’ underpin our daily teaching and learning strategies. To ensure children develop the correct foundations and skills, staff will nurture the children to promote and support the different characteristics which are:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically